Skip to product information
1 of 1

No Idea Records

WHISKEY & CO. "Ripped Together, Torn Apart"

WHISKEY & CO. "Ripped Together, Torn Apart"

Regular price $20.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $20.00 USD
Sale Sold out

No Idea Release NIR-358
Digital Released: February 24, 2017
LP Released: June 2017
CD Released: July 2017

• HEAVY-WEIGHT-LP: The records we weighed were between 165-180 grams!

•  LP and CD orders also receive a download link via email!

• Pressing info: 121 Red, 120 Blue (Japanese exclusive: 13 available for USA mailorder, 111 Yellow (German / UK exclusive), 200 Black.

1. Damn I Miss You
2. Can't Turn Back
3. Thread the Needle
4. Outrun
5. That's Your Charm
6. Love Song
7. Awkward Arms
8. 400 Days
9. Top Down
10. Show Me the Way to Go Home

• The CD is co-released with EAGER BEAVER in Japan, who also have Japanese-exclusive OPAQUE BLUE vinyl for the LP!! Flight 13 in Germany have OPAQUE YELLOW vinyl for mailorder!! U.K. folks may also order from Different Kitchen!!

• • • • •

"Ripped Together, Torn Apart is Whiskey & Co.’s first record in seven years and their strongest release to date. With the addition of piano and pedal steel, their sound feels like it’s finally come home.

Whiskey & Co. isn’t interested in labels and classifications. Are these sounds new? Hell no, and they’ll be the first to tell you that. Sure, fans of stuff like John Prine, Lucinda Williams, Gram Parsons, Uncle Tupelo and Lucero will find this record right in their wheelhouse. But this is Saturday night/Sunday morning music. Made by folks informed just as much by the rock & roll and punk they cut their teeth on as the country and bluegrass they’ve always been surrounded by growing up down here.

 The band was born in Gainesville, Florida almost 20 years ago. Between backyard parties, clubs, dive bars where “bands don’t usually play,” house shows, cookouts, and hell, even my own wedding – it’s weird when Whiskey isn’t playing a show in Gainesville.

 Whiskey’s songs have always oozed authenticity and honesty. Have always carried the warmth and familiarity one looks for in the good shit. But this time around, the songs sound fully realized and lived in - as if the songs have been dragged around and made to stand up and meet the weird world that birthed them.

 And running themes are no mistake here. Hearts won. Hearts broken. Babies born. Upheaval. Migration. Growth. Another hangover. Hope.

 The folks in this band have somehow kept their heads above water all this time. And they want you to keep swimming too.

 Ripped Together, Torn Apart is the kind of record that will grow on you like a new friend who’s somehow irreverent and genuinely compassionate at the same time. That kind of strange duality is what separates great art from, well, everything else.

 Cheers. I’ll be out back if you need me."

— Aaron Lay (Durham, NC, November 2016) 

View full details