Skip to product information
1 of 2

No Idea Records

LEATHERFACE "The Stormy Petrel"

LEATHERFACE "The Stormy Petrel"

Regular price $10.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $10.00 USD
Sale Sold out

No Idea Release NIR-266
Released: March 23, 2010

• LP / CD : a 320 kbps Digital Download (a link will be emailed to you)!

• On Silvery Grey or Black vinyl with GATEFOLD jackets!

It's a tall order to describe Leatherface in a single paragraph, given the seemingly monumental footprint they've left on our little world of DIY punk rock. They encompass everything there is to love about independent music - inventing a trademarked and unmistakable playing style, influencing and inspiring dozens of bands who have since risen to the top of the heap, and always maintaining their humility and integrity. Renowned for Stubbs' weathered yet melodic rasp and soaring Gordon Smith guitars, Leatherface (commonly referred to as The Boat) champion the working stiff above all else, a testament to their Sunderland heritage and unflinching perseverance. Var says... This moment is quite literally twenty years in the making for me. What's the story here? Is it about a kid hearing a band for the first time in 1990? Is it about the impact felt by a vastly influential, yet humbly underground band? Let us just say that without LEATHERFACE there would be no HOT WATER MUSIC as we know them. THE TIM VERSION and TILTWHEEL would have a big problem. And there would be a lot less tattoos of boats. I have reached the conclusion that this is enough. I salute the Boat and their brilliant new album. **Different artwork than the overseas release!

Frankie Stubbs - Guitar and Vocals
Dickie Hammond - Guitar and Vocals
Graeme Philliskirk - Bass
Stefan Musch - Drums

Recorded 7-11 & 21-23 December 2009 by Fred Purser in Trinity Heights Studio

Track Listing:
1. God is Dead
2. My World's End
3. Never Say Goodbye
4. Nutcase
5. Broken
6. Another Dance
7. Diego Garcia
8. Monkfish
9. Disgrace
10. Belly Dancing Stoat
11. Isn't Life Just Sweet?
12. Hope

View full details