Skip to product information
1 of 4

No Idea Records

CHRIS WOLLARD & THE SHIP THIEVES "Chris Wollard & The Ship Thieves" (LTD to 110)

CHRIS WOLLARD & THE SHIP THIEVES "Chris Wollard & The Ship Thieves" (LTD to 110)

Regular price $25.00 USD
Regular price $0.00 USD Sale price $25.00 USD
Sale Sold out
No Idea Release NIR-247
Released: February 17, 2009

• We love Wollard. That's a given, right? Well, that said, Chris defies expectations by turning in an album of varied songs, ranging from rockers to acoustic gems, to sleepy soundtracks for an all-night drive. In amongst the traditional sounds are tasteful flourishes and touches that you notice more each time you give it a spin. Not only that, but we went all-out on the fancy packaging this time around:

CD: Elegant 8-panel fold-out Digipack. Will not clean your toilet, but might do the windows if you tip.

LP: Elegant jacket + huge 2-sided, full-color, six-panel, fold-out insert (11" x 33"). Colored vinyl. May or may not come over and do your laundry for a slice of your pizza.

"These days, there are as many country-rocking singer / songwriters as there are baristas in LA with head shots. So Chris Wollard's solo debut, & The Ship Thieves, isn't going to grab anyone by the lapels like Andy Dick on a bender; its charm is a longer game. Wollard's moody, drawling croon wins your confidence slowly with each successive encounter. Though largely driven by folksy, acoustic strumming, Wollard does tap the electricity of his day jobs (HOT WATER MUSIC & THE DRAFT) for the ringing power-pop opener "No Exception" and "All The Things You Know." Songs like these contribute to the [album's] steady momentum, as Wollard mixes it up without muddying the disc's reflective tone. This attitude is epitomized by the jangly album highlight "Oh Whatever" with its self-indicting chorus. The arrangements are prim without being austere, placing Wollard's diffident, shuffling vocals center stage. The album feels as breezy as it does wistful, and lingers like memories of summer vacation." – Chris Parker / Alternative Press

The Ship Thieves on this album:
Chris Wollard - vocals, guitars, bass, organ
Addison Burns - guitar, bass, drums, vocals
Ben Lovett - keys, guitar, bass, drums, percussion
George Rebelo - drums
Derron Nuhfer - bass
Bill Clower - drums
Adam Zukert - drums
Kim Chi - bass

Track Listing:
1. No Exception
2. Reason in My Rhyme
3. The Same to You
4. In the Middle of the Se
5. Up to the Moon
6. All the Things You Know
7. Oh, Whatever
8. You Always Leave
9. The High Water
10. Hey B
View full details