Skip to product information
1 of 5

No Idea Records

BLACK TOWER "The Secret Fire"

BLACK TOWER "The Secret Fire"

Regular price $20.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $20.00 USD
Sale Sold out

No Idea Records NIR-343
LP Released: July 07, 2015

MAILORDER = OPAQUE RED vinyl (limited to 150)!!

• 150-Gram BLACK VINYL also available. If you want one, just mention this in the "notes" when you order.

• LP / DOWNLOAD:  320 kbps (a link will be emailed to you)!

BLACK TOWER hails from Ottawa, Canada, but it might as well be Middle Earth. Or at least a Middle Earth as filtered through heavy metal. Tolkien would probably not approve, but generations raised on his books – as well as Iron Maiden and assorted black metal records – will nod their long­haired heads in appreciation.

In short, BLACK TOWER is metal that wears its nerd credentials proudly on its sleeve. You don’t sing “Under the Lonely Mountain!” loud and proud in your opening song, or marry the sensibilities of Slough Feg to early Dissection and an almost Bad Religion­ish punk catchiness, without knowing exactly what you are. A lot goes into the mix, but as with any good recipe, what comes out has a flavor all its own.

With only a self­-titled demo under their belts, the three members of BLACK TOWER (who have played in many other outfits ­ most notably punk bands CRUSADES, The Creeps, and The Visitors) entered Apartment 2 Recordings in winter 2014 to track their debut LP The Secret Fire with fellow Ottawan and Fuck The Facts mastermind Topon Das. The album will be co-­released by Unspeakable Axe Records and No Idea Records in the Summer of 2015.

To quote Eric / Unspeakable Axe: "It took me all of two songs to fall under its spell, and I hope that holds true for you guys when you eventually get to hear it. Just consider this the beginning of a journey – you’re Bilbo, the band and I are Gandalf and a bunch of unruly dwarves, and you’re being beckoned down a strange new road. And if that metaphor was a little too nerdy for you, best to bow out now. Otherwise, good times lie ahead."

Erin Ewing ­ — Vocals / Guitar
Skottie Lobotomy — Bass / Vocals
Dave Williams ­ — Drums / Vocals / Keys / etc.

1. Death March
2. Black Moon
3. The Dark Lord
4. Riders
5. Shadows
6. Winter
7. The Dragon Flies

8. Night Seige

View full details